ACT Council of Social Service Inc.

Justice | Equity | Social Inclusion | Reconciliation

Conference 2014: Designing Social Change - Beyond Talk, Taking Action

7 - 8 August 2014
Ann Harding Conference Centre,
University of Canberra, Bruce ACT

The ACT Council of Social Service Inc. convened our biennial conference with the theme 'Designing Social Change: Beyond Talk, Taking Action'.

We partnered with the University of Canberra to bring together people working in the community sector as staff, volunteers or board members, activists, researchers and policy makers to share their experiences and hear from one-another about how we can better design infrastructure, services, advocacy campaigns, research and public policy so they deliver positive social change.


Major Sponsor

RSM Bird Cameron

Other Valued Sponsors

Downloads & Videos

Thank you to our in-kind sponsors:

ACT Community Sector Awards 2014

The ACT Community Sector Awards were presented at the end of the first day of the conference at the Awards and Networking Night. Over 50 community sector workers, students and consumers joined together to celebrate and acknowledge the achievements of community sector organisations and individuals.

In addition to the awards presentations, we heard from renowned social justice campaigner Dr Tom Calma AO as guest speaker, and enjoyed the surprise of a flash mob dancing their way through the crowd.

The award recipients for 2014 were:

  • RSM Bird Cameron Embracing Change Award: Carers ACT
  • Community Sector Banking Partnership Award: Youth Literacy Program, YWCA of Canberra
  • bankmecu Little Feet, Big Steps Award: Menslink
  • Minor Miracle Award: Cath Warren, DUO Services Australia
  • Minor Miracle Award Highly Commended: Monique Sutherland, Melrose High School
  • Community Services Directorate Choice and Control Award: Marymead's Urban Land Community Harvest (MULCH)
  • IGPA Student Access and Equity Award: Sarah Powles

Thank you to everyone who took the time to nominate. You'll have another chance to nominate in 2016, with new and improved award categories in the works.